Uncategorized

I’m Coming For You, 2019!

46511107_10156095778453831_7277747097237979136_oGoodbye 2018 and hello 2019!!  I know there’s nothing magical about the start of a new calendar year, but who doesn’t love a fresh start?!?

Like any year, 2018 has had highs and lows.  The biggest challenge has been watching my sister navigate the scary journey of breast cancer.  She was diagnosed in January 2018 and began treatment in February.  She has just finished her final radiation treatment and has a couple of targeted chemo treatments left, and we are hoping and praying that she stays healthy from here on out.  She and her family visited this summer for a few weeks and we had the most amazing adventures!   This year has seen a fair amount of family adventure as well:  snow days, beach days, hikes, picnics in the park, runs, bike rides, kayaking adventures, road trips, and late nights watching movies or binging Netflix.

I had an amazing time running, cycling, and swimming my way through 2018. I ran a PR at the half marathon in April, participated in my first Olympic distance triathlon in September, and PR’d my marathon time in Chicago! Oh, Chicago!  What an amazing city!  I’m already looking forward to going back next October to run the marathon again!  I became a RRCA Certified Level One Running Coach and have started a running coach business, Bridging Soles.  I met two very long term goals that I set years ago:  to run a BQ (a time that would qualify me to enter the Boston marathon), and to reach my goal weight.  I’m still working on my fear of open water swimming, which has given me courage to try new things in my life.  I continue to set goals that toss me right outside my comfort zone and I couldn’t be happier about it!

I made friends.  I lost friends.

I watched my children grow up to be another year older and accomplish amazing things.  They opened their minds and stretched their limits.

I set goals.  I met some of them, I fell short of others.  That’s ok-I’ve learned to pick up the pieces and try again. Speaking of goals…

Here were my 2018 goals, let’s see how I did:

  • Physical:
    • Mileage:  1500 running miles, 500 cycling miles, 50 swim miles (I like even numbers) (Ran 1614, cycled 326, swam 29) 
    • Compete in an Olympic Distance triathlon (YES!! So much fun!)
    • Complete the races for the year: Mid-Winter Classic 10 miler (Feb), Race the Runways half (April), Sugarloaf 15K (May), Polar Bear Tri (May), Sebago Lake Tri (June), Tri for a Cure (FINGERS CROSSED, July), Beach 2 Beacon (Aug), Pumpkinman Tri (Sept), and the Chicago Marathon (Oct). (Did all but two)
  • Spiritual: Read Thomas Merton’s daily devotionals (um, yeah that didn’t happen!)
  • Emotional: Continue seeing my therapist (Met! This has been good for me and will continue into 2019!)
  • Community: Pay it forward on the 1st and 15th of the month (Yep!  Got this one!) 
  • Intellectual: Pop Sugar’s 2018 Reading Challenge! (Fell short here, but I’m gonna try it again in 2019!)
  • Family: Send care packages to my girls each month and have a “date” with Jacob at least once a month (I let this one slide, and I’m not happy about it!  This one is a priority in 2019!)

As you can see, I did fall short of some goals.  And that’s ok!  That’s how we learn, right?  I don’t see it as failure, but rather as a learning experience to guide me as I keep moving along. So here are my goals for 2019:

Body:

  • Race the Runways: goal time 1:42 (4/27)
  • Half Ironman: no time goal, just finish! (TBD)
  • Chicago Marathon: time goal 3:38 (10/13)
  • Do 5 unassisted pull ups by the end of the year
  • Goal weight: 120 pounds
  • 2019 miles (run+swim+bike)

Mind:

Spirit:

  • Practice mindfulness (photo a day challenge, mindfulness on the run, mindful moments at work)
  • Weekly yoga (Sundays)
  • Read Taming the Wild Elephant
  • Mindfulness journal

For Others:

  • Monthly date with Jacob
  • Monthly care packages to the girls
  • Pay-it-forward on the 1st/15th of the month

In case you can’t tell, I’m passionate about goal setting and even more so about crushing goals!   Not too long ago, I wrote a blog post about setting SMART goals…check it out here if you need some guidance when setting goals for yourself! Or get in touch with me and we can work together…you know I’d love to help!

NEW_SMART-graphic

I know that there is a balance between aiming high and being realistic…and I’m hoping to find that balance this year. I’m learning to appreciate the journey….the straight-and-narrow, the twists and turns, even the detours and roadblocks.  After all, it all works together to bring us to where we need to be, and that’s a great thing.

I wish you all an amazing year of good health, happiness, joy, and peace.

Love always,
Corrie

xoxoxoxo

Leave a comment